Indulge Yourself to Boost Writer Morale

by Tim Kane

Writing is a tough business. Mostly because it’s one of the few where you toil away for one to twenty years without a paycheck. That makes pulling up a chair and typing night after night daunting. There are so many reasons to quit.

Willpower is in fact not infinite in you body. Check out this study involving college students and cookies. Turns out, people are more likely to maintain their willpower if they can indulge a little bit. Say, by taking some snacks and your favorite drink with you to the writing desk. Me, I go for for dark chocolate and coffee. The caffeine keeps me from dozing off, and the chocolate is a tiny treat. I nibble a bit when I get stuck.

Additionally, try to make the decisions you make just before writing low stress. If you need to veg a bit and watch a guilty pleasure on the television (for me it’s Chopped), then go ahead. Letting your brain off the hook preserves willpower. And trust me, you’ll need every ounce when you face that blank page.

One warning, don’t let indulgence be an excuse for non-productive snacking or procrastination. I’m not advising laying on your couch eating bon-bons. Some actual writing has to be involved here.

About Tim Kane

Tim Kane is a young adult fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Writing Advice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Indulge Yourself to Boost Writer Morale

  1. Marianne Su says:

    Good advice, albeit dangerous for me. I’ve just stopped taking a glass of red wine to the writing desk. I’ve been thinking of replacing it with chocolate like you. 🙂

  2. Bill Chance says:

    I write because I have to. I have no choice. The tough thing is writing well.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Ditto the java. In the winter, cocoa is divine, but I have to admit that I miss a glass of red wine. Haven’t been writing with one of those for close to six months and I miss Pan’s company!

Leave a Reply

